Melbourne Ensemble

7 July 2019, Sunday 2pm – Wyselaskie Auditorium


François Devienne, Quartet in C major, Op. 73, No. 1 for Bassoon and Strings
Franz Schubert, Piano Quintet in A major, D. 667, ‘Trout’ Quintet.

Meet the Artists

Freya Franzen – Violin
Chris Cartlidge – Viola
Rachael Tobin – Cello
Stephen Newton – Double Bass
Jack Schiller – Bassoon
Laurence Matheson – Piano

The Melbourne Ensemble was formed in 2016 from members of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra with an enthusiasm to play great chamber music. The ensemble’s makeup is taken from the tradition of wind and string writing in the 19th century; namely Schubert’s Octet and Beethoven’s Septet.  In its short history the Melbourne Ensemble has played for enthusiastic audiences throughout Melbourne including at the Melbourne Recital Centre, the Woodend Winter Arts Festival and here at the Lyrebird Music Society. 2019 has seen the group begin an exciting concert series at Noisy Ritual, an urban winery in Brunswick. Their next performance will be on the 3rd of November with a virtuosic performance of Strauss, Beethoven and the rarely heard Adolphe Blanc.

From Melbourne, Laurence Matheson was involved in the Young ANAM program from 2005 to 2008. He won the junior section of the Yamaha Piano Competition in 2007 before winning the Dorothy Glover Piano Award in 2010. In 2013, he began full-time studies at the Australian National Academy of Music with Timothy Young as one of their youngest ever students and was selected as a Fellow of the Australian National Academy of Music in 2016. Laurence is regularly broadcast on ABC Classic and 3MBS, and has appeared as soloist with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Orchestra Victoria and the Australian Ballet, as well as in recital at the Melbourne Recital Centre. Laurence has a particular passion for chamber music and has been involved in projects with the Aurora Ensemble, Anthony Marwood, Peter Hill and Kathy Stott, while his regular duo partners include Sophie Rowell and Timothy Young. He is also a mentor and pianist for many of Australia’s top young violinists, including Christian Li and Edward Walton.