Hopkins String Quartet


Hopkins String Quartet

Wilma Smith & Yi Wang, violins
Fiona Sargeant, viola& Sharon Draper,cello

2.00pm Sunday, 1 May 2011
29 College Crescent, Parkville

Meet the Artists

Hopkins Quartet was formed in early 2010.  This group of friends and colleagues from the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra (MSO) and Orchestra Victoria (OV) couldn’t resist the temptation to form a string quartet and be a part of Melbourne’s flourishing chamber music scene.  The Quartet was named after Professor John Hopkins OBE in recognition of his inspirational and ongoing contribution to the musical life of Australia and New Zealand.

Wilma Smith is the MSO’s concertmaster and a keen chamber musician. Born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand, she studied in Boston with Dorothy DeLay and Louis Krasner at the New England Conservatory. She was first violinist with the Lydian String Quartet, winners of numerous major prizes and competitions. Wilma played with the Boston Symphony Orchestra and was concertmaster of the Harvard Chamber Orchestra and the Handel and Haydn Society.Invited to form the New

Zealand String Quartet, Wilma was first violinist for five years, touring Australia for Musica Viva to considerable acclaim, before her appointment as Concertmaster of the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra. Wilma’s NZSO years were recognised with the title, Concertmaster Emeritus.

Sharon Draper is a member of the MSO and a core player with the Melbourne Chamber Orchestra (MCO). In 2009 she participated in the Australian Chamber Orchestra’s (ACO) Emerging Artists program and is one of their freelance players. As a soloist, Sharon has performed concertos with OV, MCO, Melbourne University Chamber Orchestra, Monash Academy Orchestra, the Adelaide Chamber Players, Melbourne Youth Orchestra (MYO), and the Australian National Academy of Music’s Orchestra.  Sharon was a winner of the ANAM Concerto Competition in 2008. Before founding the Hopkins Quartet, Sharon was a member of the Tailem Quartet, which was together from 2003-2009. Sharon also performs in the MSO’s Chamber Players Series, and has been a guest performer with Syzygy Ensemble.  In 2011 she is appearing as soloist with the MSO Chorus.

Fiona Sargeant has held the position of Associate Principal Violist with the MSO since 2008. As a student of Lawrence Jacks and Marco Van Pagee, Fiona graduated from VCASS and later VCA with distinction. She studied Viola performance and Chamber Music in Stuttgart with Hermann Voss and graduated with the highest result ever to be given to a violistat the Staatliche HochschulefürMusik und DarstellendeKunst Stuttgart.Fionawas also a finalist in the Maurice Vieux International Viola Competition, France. In Stuttgart she worked in the Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra and was Violist of the Koechlin Ensemble.Fionahas studied with Ulrich Koch Wolfram Christ, and Emile Cantor as well as being Solo Violist in DetJyske Chamber Ensemble in Denmark and Solo Viola with the Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne, Switzerland 

 Yi Wang has studied and performed extensively in China, overseas and in Australia. He is a prize winner of both the Chinese National violin competition and Rudolf Lipizer International competition held in Italy. After completing his undergraduate study at the Beijing Central Conservatory with Prof. Zhing Long Wang, Yi travelled to London to undertake a postgraduate course with YfrahNeaman. He was awarded the prestigious ‘concert recital Diploma-Premier Prix’ in 1994,and in 1995 was offered the position of Assistant Concertmaster with the Welsh National Opera.Yi came to Australia in 1997 to join the Australian Chamber Orchestra, and from 20012007 he was Principal First Violin with the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, with whom he was also Acting Concertmaster and Associate Concertmaster. Yi has been director and leader of Virtuosi Tasmania Chamber Orchestra and led the MSO and OV on many occasions. Recently he moved to Melbourne to join OV as Principal Second Violin.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (17561791)

String Quartet No. 23 in F major, KV590 (1790)

I Allegretto Moderato II Allegretto III Menuetto: Allegretto IV Allegro

 Samuel Barber (19101981)Adagio for String Quartet  arr. 2nd movement of String Quartet No. 1, Op. 11(1936)


 Ludwig van Beethoven (17701827)

String Quartet No. 3 in D major, Op. 18 (1798-1800)

I Allegro II Andante con moto III Allegro IV Presto

 You are invited to meet the artists after the concert over light refreshments.