Tomoe Kawabata



Sunday, 6th June, 2010 2 pm
Gisborne St, East Melbourne
Melways 2F Kl

Meet the Artists

Japanese-born pianist Tomoe Kawabata is quickly becoming one of Australia’s most exciting and sought-after musicians, frequently appearing as a soloist and chamber musician across Australia and abroad.

She has performed in concerts and festivals in Europe, Canada, Australia and Japan to great critical acclaim, and as a concerto soloist has performed the Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto in B-flat minor No. 1, Chopin Piano Concerto in F minor No.2 and Schumann Piano Concerto in A minor with the Sofia Philharmonic Orchestra, Targu Mures State Philharmonic Orchestra, Sibiu Symphony Orchestra and “Dinu Lipatti” Philharmonic Orchestra in Europe. Recently, she.has been actively performing Japanese contemporary piano music.

Recipient of numerous scholarships, Tomoe also won a number of awards including the PTNA competition, the Omagari New Musicians’ Festival Competition, and the Japan Vocal and Instrument Competition.

She graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Piano Performance and a Masters degree in Arts with first class honours at the Tokyo College of Music, subsequently moving to Australia in 2002. She completed her Masters degree with first class honours at the Australian Institute of Music in 2004. In the following year, as a concert pianist she was granted a distinguished talent visa for permanent residency. She then moved to Melbourne to further explore her musical career at the Australian National Academy of Music. She is currently undertaking the Doctor of Philosophy in Music Performance at the Elder Conservatorium of Music in Adelaide. Her project is on contemporary piano works by Akio Yashiro and Akira Miyoshi, two of the greatest Japanese composers.


Akio Yashiro (1929-1976): Senate pour Piano (1960/1961)
Agitato;Adagio Toccata Theme et Variations
Torn Takemitsu (1939-1996): Piano distance pour piano (1961)
Dutilleux (b.1916): Sonata pour piano (1946/1947)
Allegro con moto Lied Choral et Variations


Tomojiro Ikenouchi (1906-1991): Australian Premiere Sonatine pour piano (1954)
Prelude Interlude Fugue
Toru Takemitsu: For away pour piano (1973)
Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953): Piano Sonata No.7 Op.83 (1943)
Allegro inquieto Andante caloroso Precipitato